Cambridge clinch WaiBOP Championship title

posted in: Men, News

Cambridge’s success in the 2017 WaiBOP Championship ends a five-year drought in which the club battled to get into the top half of the competition.

The club finished runners-up in the Championship in 2012 (when it was known as Federation League 2), earning promotion to the competition now known as the WaiBOP Premiership.

But in subsequent years, the club’s reserve team battled its way through seasons with placings of 7th, 4th, 5th and 5th.

The emergence of talented youth players gave the team new impetus this season, with leadership from player-coach Adrian Clark who had coached many of the youngsters to WaiBOP Youth League titles as U-15s and U-17s.

The Cambridge side clinched the 2017 title with two rounds to go, having won 15 and drawn five games from their 20 fixtures, losing only once.

Coincidentally, bringing the Championship trophy to John Kerkhof Park means the title has been won by seven different clubs over the past seven seasons:


2011: Ngongotaha

2012: Tauranga City United

2013: Tauranga Boys College

2014: Katikati

2015: Kawerau Town

2016: West Hamilton United

2017: Cambridge

Goalscorers: James Cakebread 16 Callum MacLeod 7 Mason Woodall 7 Adam Brady 5 Levi Clark 5 Josh Clarkin 4 James Greentree 2 Deihen Hindley 2 Jason Szabo 2 Paul Blackstock 1 Blerin Budla 1 Craig Hedges 1 Avi Kumar 1 Alex Mukaka 1 Jack O’Leary 1 Andrew Taylor 1 Tom Woutersen 1 Own goals 3

The latest issue of RED, our club’s free matchday magazine, is available here: