Woodlock heads list of club’s Player of Year awards

Cambridge FC’s inspirational captain Patrick Woodlock holds the record of winning the club’s Player of the Award six times.

Collecting the Jim Barry Player’s Player of the Year Memorial Trophy for 2017, Woodlock took the award for the fifth successive year.

Woodlock (main photo) was awarded the trophy in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, as well as being named the WaiBOP Premiership’s Player of the Year for 2015 and 2017.

Retired striker Tony McIsaac won the trophy in 1993, 2003, 2005 and 2006.

2019 winner Josh Clarkin with Jim Barry Memorial Shield

The full roll of award winners is:

1991: Michael Welton
1992: Alex Stuttard
1993: Tony McIsaac
1994: Gary Board
1995: Ramon Messam
1996: Mark Stuttard/Wayne Gulletly (joint winners)
1997: Richard Hill
1998: Tony Dikmans
1999: Richard Hill
2000: Tony Dikmans
2001: Kelvin Rogers
2002: Kelvin Rogers
2003: Tony McIsaac
2004: Sam Messam
2005: Tony McIsaac
2006: Tony McIsaac
2007: Charlie Boyle
2008: Patrick Woodlock
2009: Jason Chewins

Fraser Nicholls (2020 Player of the Year)

2010: Ryan McNamara
2011: Scott Parsonage
2012: Jack Taylor
2013: Patrick Woodlock
2014: Patrick Woodlock
2015: Patrick Woodlock
2016: Patrick Woodlock
2017: Patrick Woodlock
2018: Andrew Taylor
2019: Josh Clarkin
2020: Fraser Nicholls

Jim Barry

Jim Barry

This prestigious trophy is named after the late Cambridge coach and goalkeeper Jim Barry who was a popular club member and friend to many during the 1980s.