Reds face 3,100km schedule in next year’s Lotto NRFL

posted in: Men, News, Northern League

Cambridge face a 3,100km travel schedule next year as the Northern League’s second division takes shape.

All 12 clubs have been confirmed for the 2019 Lotto NRFL second tier, meaning Cambridge will travel as far as Northland (a 600km round-trip), eight times to Auckland and play ‘local’ derbies with Hamilton’s Claudelands Rovers and Ngongotaha.

But Cambridge won’t be the biggest travellers in the division.

Northland and Ngongotaha will both clock up more than 4,600km to participate while the Auckland-based clubs have it easiest with travel schedules of between 1,500km and 1,700km.

The make-up of the 2019 NRFL second division:

Cambridge FC (7th in Division 2 in 2018)

Manurewa AFC (relegated from Division 1)

Oratia United (relegated from Division 1)

Claudelands Rovers (3rd in Division 2)

Metro FC (4th in Division 2)

Franklin United (5th in Division 2)

Albany United (6th in Division 2)

Ngongotaha (8th in Division 2)

Northland FC (9th in Division 2)

Onehunga Mangere United (10th in Division 2)

Greenhithe Catimba MC (promoted as champions of AFF/NFF Conference)

Unimount MCL Bohemian Celtic (promoted as runners up of AFF/NFF Conference)