New name goes on men’s Cambridge Sevens trophy

Fresh names will be etched on the men’s Cambridge Sevens trophy after two teams with no previous wins at the tournament played out an exciting final.

Colombia+2, entering for the first time, beat Te Awamutu Red 2-0 in the final to take home the Calnar Trophy from John Kerkhof Park.

Main photo: Colombia+2 with trophy and winners’ medals.

Thirteen teams contest this year’s sevens, under hot sun, and after group play, five sides qualified for the knockout stages.

First to go at the sudden death stage were dual past winners Young Gunners who lost to another past winner, Kawerau Sports, after a penalty shoot-out.

Kawerau then bowed out in the semi finals, losing to Te Awamutu Red.

Meanwhile, Brocelona – a team made up of Cambridge players – lost their semi-final to Colombia+2.

As usual, spectators were treated to plenty of spectacular goals while many of the teams benefitted from a hard workout on the pitch, with teams playing between three and six half-hour games each.

Our organisers thank the referees who made the tournament possible, and the club volunteers who helped set up the facilities.

Clarke McKenzie, of Vigour Physiotherapy, tended to players throughout the day while Richard Crafts, of sponsor Calnar Point of Sale, again donated trophy and medals for the winners.

Photo gallery

Women’s tournament (Sunday March 10, 2019)

Entries for the women’s sevens tournament are open till noon on Saturday March 2, 2019.

Click here for details and to register online.

Past winners – Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)
2018: Whakatane Town

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC

2019: Colombia+2