Melville and Wanderers claim silverware in men’s finals at John Kerkhof Park

posted in: Men, News

Melville United have taken home the Waikato Cup to cap a memorable day in the club’s cup history.

On a day United’s first team reached the final of New Zealand football’s oldest competition, the Chatham Cup, Melville’s third team captured the Ron White Trophy at Cambridge’s John Kerkhof Park.

The Melville United Nobs (see main photograph) beat Huntly Thistle 1-0 to collect the Waikato Cup as news was filtering through from Auckland that their first team had upset Bay Olympic in the ISPS Handa Chatham Cup semi-final.

Prior to the Waikato Cup final, Hamilton Wanderers Classics won the Waikato Plate with a 4-0 victory against Otorohanga.

Otorohanga were trying for their third piece of silverware in as many years but were outplayed by Wanderers at John Kerkhof Park.

Click here for coverage of the women’s Waikato Cup and Plate finals

Photo gallery

Cambridge FC’s official photographer captured these images from the Plate final between Hamilton Wanderers and Otorohanga:

Match programme

Recent winners

Waikato Cup (men)

2019: Melville Old Nobs 1, Huntly Thistle 0 (Venue: John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge)
2018: Otorohanga 2, Melville United Nobs 1 (Venue: Gower Park, Hamilton)
2017: Otorohanga 2, Cambridge B 0 (Venue: John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge)
2016: Northern United A 1, Te Awamutu B 0 (Venue: John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge)
2015: Eastern City 2, Claudelands Rovers 0 (Venue: Te Awamutu Stadium)
2014: Claudelands Rovers A 2, Hamilton Wanderers A 1 (Venue: Te Awamutu Stadium)
2013: Hamilton Wanderers A 5, Cambridge A 2 (Venue: John Kerkhof Park, Cambridge)
2012: Claudelands Rovers A 4, Claudelands Rovers B 3 (after extra time) (Venue: Galloway Park, Claudelands)
2011: Hamilton Wanderers A 2, Hamilton North 0 (Venue: Porritt Stadium, Hamilton)
2010: Hamilton Wanderers A beat Otorohanga D (after extra time)
2009: Claudelands Rovers A 3, Cambridge A 2 (after extra time)
2008: Winners — Cambridge
2007: Winners — Hamilton Wanderers

Waikato Plate (men)

2019: Hamilton Wanderers Classics
2018: Waikato Unicol
2017: Waihi B
2016: Melville United C
2015: Melville United C
2014: Waikato Unicol Black
2013: Cambridge C1
2012: Matamata Swifts 3rds
2011: Claudelands Rovers
2010: Waikato Unicol
2009: Waikato Unicol
2008: FOSS

Match programmes – previous finals

Click here for 2017 WaiBOP Finals programme

Click here for 2016 WaiBOP Finals programme

Click here for 2013 WaiBOP Finals programme