Reds striker makes instant impact in National Youth League

posted in: Men, News, Northern League

Cambridge striker Josh Clarkin has made an immediate impact in the opening round of fixtures in this year’s National Youth League.

The Reds’ top goalscorer plays his spring/summer football in the NYL for Hamilton Wanderers and he scored both their goals in their opening round 2-0 win against Tasman United in Nelson.

It’s the second season that Clarkin and Reds teammate Jack Portegys have turned out for Wanderers in the national competition.

Clarkin’s form continues a run of goalscoring since his return from illness two-thirds of the way through this year’s Lotto NRFL second division. His goals contributed to his selection as Cambridge FC’s Player of the Year.

Main photo: Josh Clarkin shielding the ball for the Reds during a Northern League match at Cambridge (image: Louis Roberts).

Cambridge supporters will get the chance to see Clarkin and Portegys in NYL action on Saturday November 16 when John Kerkhof Park will be the home ground for Wanderers’ youth and ISPS Handa Premiership double header against Auckland City.

Click here for details.

About the National Youth League

The National Youth League runs in conjunction with the ISPS Handa Premiership and is competed for by the same 10 clubs.

Auckland City are the defending champions after finishing level on points with crosstown rivals Waitakere United last season but lifting the trophy due to their superior goal difference.

The top three was an all-Auckland affair with Eastern Suburbs ending just a point further back.

Hamilton Wanderers’ 2019 squad

Jackson Hawke (GK), Sham Chetty, Kees Tweed, Callum Donlon, Avishak Kumar, Jack Marden, Jayden Gozdz, Lewis Reid, George Ott, Joshua Clarkin, Adam Davidson, Jack Macklow, Diakan Govender, Ricky Singh, Mason Sas, Gui Huinink, Eyob Tekalion, Jack Portegys, Bhabjot Singh, Nicholas Walters, Riley Sexton, Cory Townsend (GK), Joseph Knowles (GK).

Coach: Kale Herbert

National Youth League Match Week One Results

Hawke’s Bay United 3 (Luca Barclay, Liam Shackleton, Samuel Wall)
Waitakere United 6 (Rayhan Carlson Du Toit, Tafara Chawira, Jason Alama, Robbie Turner, Dawson Strafford 2)
HT: 0-3

Tasman United 0
Hamilton Wanderers 2 (Joshua Clarkin 2)
HT: 0-1

Wellington Phoenix Reserves 1 (Luca Van Dillen)
Canterbury United Dragons 4 (Jack Mitchell, Jake Grove, Alex Meaclem, Finbar Gallaway)
HT: 0-3

Auckland City 5 (Thomas Drillien 3, Deandre Vollenhoven, own goal)
Eastern Suburbs 0
HT: 5-0

Team Wellington 2 (Josh Larkin, own goal)
Southern United 1 (Cameron Anderson)
HT: 0-1

For the National Youth League table draw and more information click here.

Please follow and like us: