Broken Down win 2015 women’s sevens

posted in: Cambridge Sevens, Events, News, Women

A team made up largely of veteran players are the winners of Cambridge’s Soccer Shop women’s sevens.

The players used to play for Hillcrest United but reunited under the name Broken Down to enter this year’s tournament at John Kerkhof Park.

In the final, the side beat Otumoetai Bay Sports 3-2 in extra time with the goal scored direct from a corner by current Cambridge player and former Football Fern Andie Rogers.

The Cambridge Football Club has now hosted five years of sevens tournaments for men and women and Broken Down’s victory continues the run of no team having won twice.

“It’s amazing – we’ve had ten tournaments and ten different winners,” tournament organiser Tania Zeuren said.

Past winners of the Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)