Kawerau Town win 2015 Cambridge Sevens

posted in: Cambridge Sevens, Events, Men, News

Kawerau Town won the fifth annual Carters Cambridge Sevens after winning a thrilling final 3-2 in extra time against Kenya.

Nineteen teams from throughout the Waikato/Bay of Plenty contested the sevens at John Kerkhof Park on Sunday, playing 30-minute matches on three-quarter sized pitches.

By winning the tournament, Kawerau Town extended the tournament’s record of finding new winners each year – past victors have been Whakatane Town, Young Gunners (Hamilton), Palace Jesters (Te Aroha) and Hamilton Wanderers.

Past winners of the Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)