Trio land top regional Player of the Year awards

posted in: Awards, Men, News, Youth

Three Cambridge players have landed WaiBOP Football awards for their achievements during the 2015 season.

Patrick Woodlock, left, captain of the title-winning Cambridge first team, has been named Player of the Year for the WaiBOP Premiership.

Logan Wisnewski has been awarded Player of the Year in the U-17 Federation League after his Cambridge Reds team landed the competition title, while team mate Callum Macleod has been confirmed as the league’s Golden Boot.

For Woodlock, the WaiBOP award caps an outstanding season in which he was named Cambridge’s men’s Player of the Year after leading his side to the club’s first top-level title success in 20 years.

Our club congratulates all three players on their success.

The full list of regional awards released by WaiBOP Football:

WaiBOP Premiership Player of the Year: Patrick Woodlock (Cambridge FC)
WaiBOP Championship Player of the Year: Glen Brown (West Ham United)
Federation Women’s Cup Player of the Year: Jacinta Coleman (Otumoetai FC)
Federation Women’s Plate Player of the Year: No nominations
Federation Under 13 League Player of the Year: Ivan Alsonso (Hamilton North)
Federation Under 15 League Player of the Year: Jack Douglas (Hamilton North)
Federation Under 17 League Player of the Year: Logan Wisnewski (Cambridge FC)
WaiBOP Premiership Golden Boot: Luke Barker (Ngongotaha AFC)
WaiBOP Championship Golden Boot: Charlie Mcilwaine (Te Puke United)
Federation Women’s Cup Golden Boot: Laura Griffin (Otumoetai FC)
Federation Women’s Plate Golden Boot: Annemieke Verstraten (Matamata Swifts AFC)
Federation Under 13 League Golden Boot: Gabriel Jhang (Melville United AFC)
Federation Under 15 League Golden Boot: Liam Cooney (Hamilton Wanderers)
Federation Under 17 League Golden Boot: Callum Macleod (Cambridge FC)
BOP Men’s 1 Golden Boot: Barry Macpherson (Papamoa FC)
BOP Men’s 2 Golden Boot: Alex Hardy (Ngongotaha AFC)
BOP Women’s 1 Golden Boot: Briann Osborne (Papamoa FC)
Waikato Men’s A Player of the Year: Kieran Payton (Waikato Unicol)
Waikato Men’s B Player of the Year: Danny Moore (Claudelands Rovers)
Waikato Men’s C Player of the Year: Josh Petersen (Te Awamutu AFC)
Waikato Men’s D Player of the Year: Anthony Jones (Claudelands Rovers)
Waikato Men’s E Player of the Year: Billy Carter (Te Awamutu AFC)
Waikato Women’s A Player of the Year: Naomi Courtney-Tennant (Hamilton North)
Waikato Women’s B/C Player of the Year: Georgia Burke (Hamilton Wanderers)