Villagers land 2016 Cambridge Sevens crown

posted in: Cambridge Sevens, Events, Men, News

After six years of running its successful seven-a-side tournament, Cambridge Football Club has again seen a new winner named as champion.

Bay of Plenty’s Ngongotaha club, playing under their nickname The Villagers, became the sixth club in as many years to win the Carters Cambridge Sevens.

The tournament has previously been won by Whakatane Town (2011), Hamilton’s Young Gunners (2012), Te Aroha’s Palace Jesters (2013), Hamilton Wanderers (2014) and Kawera Town (2015).

Teams from Auckland, the Bay of Plenty and Waikato contested the 2016 sevens at John Kerkhof Park with Ngongotaha beating Waikato Unicol in the final.

Beaten semi-finalists were Young Gunners and the Cambridge Championship side.

The Cambridge team, who went through the group stages as the only team with three wins, were beaten 2-1 by Unicol in a tense semi-final.

After the tournament, Cambridge coach Steve Thomas said his team had decided to donate their $100 prizemoney to the club’s fund launched this year to level and improve playing surface on the club’s junior pitches.

“Overall, we think we’ll need to raise about $150,000 for the project but every fundraising project has to start with the first donation – and our players wanted to make a gesture to help get the fundraising underway,” Thomas said.

The club will host a Quiz Night on Saturday April 2, sponsored by Barrott’s Plumbing, to step up the fundraising campaign for the junior grounds project.

Meanwhile, the Soccer Shop Sevens (women’s) tournament will be held at John Kerkhof Park next Sunday (March 13).

Photo: Cambridge’s sevens team – back row (from left): Chong Xie, Tom Woutersen, James Cakebread, Rex Fowler, Dan Podjursky, Adam Brady, Steve Thomas (coach). Front row (from left): Lee Framp, Josh Dagnall, Nathan Claridge, Richard Armstrong.

Past winners of the Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)