Young Gunners clinch 2017 men’s Sevens title

posted in: Cambridge Sevens, Events, Men, News

Cambridge’s traditional start to the new football year got underway with an entertaining men’s 7-a-side tournament which was decided by the closest final year.

Hamilton side Young Gunners became the first team to win the Cambridge Sevens for a second time when they overcame Bayer Neverlewsen in a penalty shoot out after extra time could not separate the teams in a frantic final.

Young Gunners, who last won the tournament in 2012, also needed extra time to beat Waikato Unicol in their semi-final.

The tournament again provided plenty of thrills – and 122 goals in the day – as teams from as far as Whakatane and Auckland visited Cambridge’s John Kerkhof Park for the annual tournament.

Cambridge’s own team narrowly missed a place in the semi-finals but took the honour of the day’s biggest win, beating Garoom Academy 10-1.

Meanwhile, the women’s Sevens will be held next Sunday (March 12) with veteran team Broken Down attempting to take their third title in successive years.

Our men’s tournament is sponsored by Calnar Point of Sale and our women’s tournament is sponsored by The Soccer Shop.

Past winners of the Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)