Reds retain WaiBOP Challenge Shield till next season

posted in: Men, News, Northern League

Cambridge have retained the WaiBOP Challenge Shield and will hold it at least until next year.

The shield – which runs on similar lines to rugby’s Ranfurly Shield – remains with the holder until they are beaten at home by a challenger.

Cambridge fended off their last challenger of the 2017 season when they beat Rotorua United 4-1 in a Loaded WaiBOP Premiership game at John Kerkhof Park on Saturday.

This follows previous successful defences of the shield against Tauranga Old Blues and Tauranga Boys College, since winning it from West Hamilton United on August 5.

By holding it over summer, Cambridge’s name now goes on the trophy for the second time, as the club were previously holders in 2014.

The shield was introduced by WaiBOP Football in 2006 to add the flavour of knockout football to the regional league.

Past end-of-season holders
2006: Taupo
2007: Taupo
2008: Taupo
2009: Taupo
2010: Otumoetai
2011: Claudelands Rovers
2012: Taupo
2013: Whakatane Town
2014: Cambridge
2015: Ngongotaha
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Cambridge

The latest issue of RED, our club’s free matchday magazine, is available here: