Cambridge win Satellite Final at national youth tournament

posted in: Events, News, Youth

Cambridge have won the 2017 Satellite Final at the national youth tournament in Napier.

After leading 2-0 at half-time, the U-19s had to withstand a strong fightback from Tauranga City United before Cambridge clinched victory with a 3-2 win.

Cambridge, playing their first final at the tournament in eight years, took the lead through Joshua Clarkin and Mason Woodall.

Clarkin’s goal, his eighth in as many games in Napier, came from a corner:

Woodall scored the second with this long range effort:

Woodall added another goal early in the second half from the penalty spot to give Cambridge a 3-0 lead.

But Tauranga came storming back and Steffano Riley scored to make it 3-1. His team then blew a chance to narrow the gap further when blasting a penalty against the crossbar.

Nils Winistoerfer scored late for Tauranga but Cambridge ran down the clock to take victory.

Having won the Satellite Final in 2006, and been runners-up in 2009, Cambridge won the 2017 title with stellar performances that saw the team concede only three goals in their eight matches.

In their semi-final, the U-19s beat FC Twenty 11 by 2-0, with goals from Joshua Clarkin and Levi Clark.

Clark’s goal came from a viciously inswinging corner that the FC Twenty defence could not scramble clear:

The win was a reversal of when the two sides met in their last game of their qualifying group, which was Cambridge’s only loss at the tournament.

On Sunday, Clarkin’s goal helped Cambridge to a 1-0 win in the quarter-finals against Hawkes Bay side Havelock North.

Wins against local side Taradale, Papakura City and North Shore United, and a draw against Franklin United, earned the Cambridge’s U-19s a berth in the sudden death knockout stages of the Labour Weekend tournament.

Despite losing their last group game 1-0 to FC Twenty 11, Cambridge progressed to the last eight.

In games played on Saturday, Cambridge tied 1-1 with South Auckland side Franklin United thanks to this headed goal from Joshua Clarkin:

Clarkin’s height again proved useful when he rose above the Papakura City defence to score with this header from a corner in Cambridge’s third game:

Cambridge scored from another set piece against Papakura City when Mason Woodall carefully placed this long-range direct free kick into the corner of the net.


Results and scorers

Saturday October 21

Taradale 0, Cambridge 4
Scorers: Levi Clark (2), Joshua Clarkin, James Cakebread

Cambridge 1, Franklin United 1
Scorer: Joshua Clarkin

Cambridge 4, Papakura City 0
Scorers: Joshua Clarkin (2), Mason Woodall, Donovan Latham

Sunday October 22

North Shore United 0, Cambridge 2
Scorers: Joshua Clarkin, James Cakebread

FC Twenty 1, Cambridge 0

Quarter final – Cambridge 1, Havelock North 0
Scorer: Joshua Clarkin

Monday October 23

Semi final – FC Twenty 0, Cambridge 2
Scorers: Joshua Clarkin, Levi Clark

Final – Cambridge 3, Tauranga City United 2
Scorers: Joshua Clarkin, Mason Woodall (2)

Congratulations to Levi Clark who was selected in the 2017 Napier U19 Tournament Team.

Cambridge’s 2017 squad

Patrick Espin, Zak Petropoulos, Avishak Kumar, Joshua Johnson, Jack Portegys, Mason Woodall, Immo Frank, Levi Clark, Donovan Latham, Theo Petropoulos, Callum MacLeod, Daniel Clarkin, James Young, James Cakebread, Joshua Clarkin, Kyle Stead, Bradley Rea.

Coach: Adrian Clark.


Our 2017 squad is sponsored by:


Tournament record

The Napier tournament has been running for more than 30 years and has traditionally provided the opportunity for young players to shine in front of national age group selectors.

The tournament is run in two sections – the Main Group and a Satellite Group.

Winning the Satellite Group means Cambridge is eligible to enter the tournament’s Main Group next season, facing some of New Zealand’s strongest clubs.

Cambridge’s best recent result at the tournament was in 2009 when the Mike Woodlock-coached team reached the Satellite Final, going down 1-0 to Dunedin.

In 2006, the Cambridge team won the Satellite Final 1-0 against Ellerslie but were deemed to have breached tournament rules. The squad included a young Chris Wood (now an All White and playing for Burnley in the English Premiership). However, Wood was ruled ineligible to play at the tournament because he was 14 (and the minimum playing age is 15).

In 2007, Cambridge won the Satellite section of the tournament, beating Dunedin Technical 2-1 in the final.

Photo: The victorious 2007 squad. Back row (from left) Tom Woutersen, Ants Hobern, Jordy Ball, Ryan Powell, Patrick Woodlock (c), Luke Gordon, Raymond How, Steve Stone, Nathan Claridge, Josh Wilson (vice capt), Simeon Clark, Marcus Woutersen. Front row (from left) Mike Woodlock (coach), Jamie Woodlock (mascot), Ryan McNamara, Joe Kilgour, Danny Woodlock, Kieran Frewan, Alex Roberts.

In 2016, Cambridge FC reached the quarter finals, where they were beaten 2-0 by FC Twenty 11.