New winner’s name to go on Cambridge Sevens trophy

The Cambridge Sevens men’s trophy will go to its seventh different winning team in eight years after a Hamilton-based team went through the tournament unbeaten.

Qooto-Qooto FC, a team of friends formed specially to contest the competition, beat Bethlehem College 6-2 in a final that brought together two of the tournament’s most attacking sides.

The team are pictured receiving their trophy and medals from Richard Crafts, of co-sponsor Calnar Point of Sale.

The tournament winners had to beat past winners Whakatane Town in group play and then overcome another sevens-winning team, Kawerau Sports, in the semi-final.

Bethlehem College started their day with a group loss to Qooto-Qooto but the youngsters then found their form with wins against Whakatane Town and Kawerau Sport’s second string team.

The college team beat Te Awamutu-based Any Ideas in their semi-final.

Final placings:

  1. Qooto-Qooto FC
  2. Bethlehem College
  3. Any Ideas
  4. Kawerau Sports

Organiser Josh Easby thanked the referees and club volunteers who helped make the eighth tournament possible, and the support of club sponsors including Calnar Point of Sale (who provided trophies and medals, as well as day-long music), apparel supplier Sportswear Direct and Vigour Physiotherapy who provided physio services throughout the day.

The 2018 Cambridge Sevens women’s tournament takes place next Sunday (March 11).

Past winners of the Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)

Photo gallery