Whakatane reclaim women’s Cambridge Sevens title

Whakatane Town have taken out the Cambridge Sevens (women’s) tournament for the first time since winning the inaugural event in 2011.

The team won an all-Bay of Plenty final 5-3 against Tauranga City United, making their first appearance in a sevens final.

Cambridge produced an excellent tournament performance to finish third with a young team while Melville United Red took fourth spot.

They were among 14 sides from around the Waikato/Bay of Plenty who spent an enjoyable day in the sun at John Kerkhof Park playing the short-form version of football which has no offsides and, as a result, plenty of goals.

The top four teams all won their respective groups and went into hard-fought semi-finals.

Cambridge and Whakatane Town were tied 1-1 at the end of ordinary time in their semi but the Bay side scored in extra time to qualify for the final.

Tauranga City United overcame Melville United Red 2-0 in the other semi-final.

Cambridge beat Melville United Red 2-1 in the play-off for third place, meaning Cambridge had won three matches, drawn one and suffered their only loss in extra time – an excellent return for their supporters.

We thank our tournament sponsors Sportswear Direct and Calnar Point of Sale, our pool of referees and Vigour Physiotherapy for keeping players on the pitch!

More photographs – visit our gallery

Past winners – Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)
2018: Whakatane Town

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC

Men’s Sevens – New name goes on trophy in 2018