New season marks 25th anniversary of celebrated ’93 team

As Cambridge returns to football’s Northern League after a six-year break, it’s apt that the new season marks the 25th anniversary of the club’s most successful season in the competition’s second division.

In 1993, the men’s first team completed their 22-match schedule unbeaten, recording 19 wins and three draws.

The team finished 19 competition points ahead of the runners-up and won promotion to the Northern League’s first division.

Recognition for the team’s achievement was widespread with the side winning the Cambridge Sports Team of the Year title and going on to take the Waikato Sports Foundation’s Team of the Year award.

The current crop of first team players go into the 2018 NRFL second division, newly promoted as 2017 Waikato/Bay of Plenty champions having taken the Loaded WaiBOP Premiership and successfully held the WaiBOP Challenge Shield over summer.

The team was named the Waipa Sports Team of the Year and was a finalist for the Waikato Sports Team of the Year.

Striker Tony McIsaac led the side’s attack with style, earning him the club’s Jim Barry Player of the Year award for 1993, the first of four times he took the award.

Coach of the ’93 squad, Grant Hastings, now lives in the Hawkes Bay and has fond memories of that season.

“If there was one thing that ever stood out to me about the team from ’93, it was the togetherness and friendship that the team had on and off the field.

“It meant that they were always prepared to go the extra mile for each other.

“That team will always hold a special place in my memories. To this day, I have yet to see a better aeroplane celebration than Robbie Brettel after Tony McIsaac scored the goal that won us the league.”

Let’s hope the efforts and achievements of the Class of ’93 inspire the ’18 Reds to an outstanding season.

Link: Help us track down members of the Class of ’93

Link: Cambridge FC’s full record in the Northern League


Image: Donna Marx

Back row (from left): Neil Stuttard (assistant coach), Grant Hastings (coach), Daniel Martin, Lloyd Price, Ramon Messam, Cameron Joyce, Steve McMurray (manager), Bill Brown (club president).

Middle row (from left): Robbie Brettell, Frank Begley, Marcus Oxenham, Michael Welton (captain), Noel Armstrong, Wayne Galletly, Tony McIsaac.

Front row (from left): Alex Stuttard, Shane Hooper, Mark Stuttard, Steve Henderson.