Reds get bye in opening round of ISPS Handa Chatham Cup

posted in: Men, News, Northern League

Cambridge will join this year’s ISPS Handa Chatham Cup at a later stage than in recent seasons, thanks to the club’s elevation to Northern League status.

All Lotto NRFL clubs have received byes in the preliminary round of New Zealand’s oldest cup competition.

Cambridge is one of 137 clubs to enter the 2018 knockout competition. the 91st staging of the cup.

More than 50 clubs, including a number of Cambridge’s local rivals, go into the preliminary round draw to be held on Anzac Day (April 25) or over the weekend of April 28-29.

Cambridge will begin its cup campaign in round one over the weekend of May 12-13.

The Chatham Cup final will be held on September 9 at QBE Stadium in Auckland.

ISPS Handa Chatham Cup Preliminary Round
April 25, 28-29

Northern Region

Glen Eden United vs Clendon United
Papamoa vs Tuakau
Bohemian Celtic vs Onerahi
University-Mt Wellington vs Kawerau
Ranui Swanson vs Internationale
Auckland Wanderers vs Te Awamutu
West Hamilton United vs Papatoetoe United
Lynn-Avon United vs Kaeo-Inter
Navy vs Auckland Volcanoes
Kiwi True Blues vs Otumoetai
Plains Rangers vs HNK Auckland
University of Auckland vs West Auckland
Northern Wairoa vs Waiuku
Kerikeri vs Greenhithe
Airforce vs Warkworth
Waikato Unicol vs Mercury Tokoroa
Matamata Swifts vs Ngaruawahia United
Taupo vs Otorohanga

(Byes: All NRFL teams)

Central/Capital Region

Wanganui Athletic vs New Plymouth Rangers
North End vs Gisborne Thistle

(Byes: Palmerston North Marist, Napier City Rovers, Havelock North Wanderers, all Capital teams)

Mainland Region

Richmond Athletic vs FC Nelson
St Albans Shirley vs Western
Parklands United vs Christchurch United
Burnham vs Waimakariri United

(Byes: Nelson Suburbs, Tahuna, Rangers, Cashmere Technical, Coastal Spirit, Ferrymead Bays, Selwyn United, FC Twenty 11, Nomads United, Universities, Burwood, Halswell United)

Southern Region

Mornington vs Gore Wanderers
Thistle (Invercargill) vs Melchester Rovers

(Byes: Dunedin Technical, Queenstown Rovers, Green Island, Caversham, Mosgiel, Northern, Otago University, Roslyn Wakari, Grant Braes, Geraldine, Thistle (Timaru), West End, Queens Park, Old Boys)

Our Chatham Cup record

Click here for the Reds’ past performances in the Chatham Cup