Cambridge to host final of Waikato Women’s Cup

posted in: Events, News, Uncategorized, Women

John Kerkhof Park will be the venue for the final of this year’s Waikato Women’s Cup between Cambridge and West Hamilton United.

The match will kick off at 11am on Sunday August 26.

Cambridge’s appearance in the final affirms their reputation for cup football, having reached four knockout finals in the past six years.

Cambridge were beaten finalists in the Waikato Cup in 2013 and 2015 but brought home the trophy in 2014, beating Claudelands Rovers 2-1.

Cambridge also reached the final of the Waikato Plate in 2016.

West Hamilton include a number of ex-Cambridge players including former captain Maria Anderton, 2017 player of the year Andie Rogers and Stacey Smith who were all members of the club’s 2014 cup winning team.

Meanwhile, the final of the 2018 Waikato Women’s Plate will see Matamata Swifts play Northern United at John Kerkhof Park, also kicking off at 11am.

Main photo: Cambridge celebrate after their semi-final win against Claudelands Rovers.

Paths to the final

Here’s how the teams reached the 2018 final:


Round 1: bye

Round 2: beat Matamata Swifts 5-0

Quarter-final: beat Tokoroa 3-2

Semi-final: beat Claudelands Rovers 3-1

West Hamilton

Round 1: bye

Round 2: beat Waikato Unicol 9-2

Quarter-final: beat Huntly Thistle 7-2

Semi-final: beat Melville United 5-1

Click here for Cambridge’s record during 2018 with links to all match reports.