Tim Bailey takes Waipa’s Sports Administrator of the Year award

posted in: Awards, Juniors, News

Cambridge FC’s Tim Bailey has been named Waipa’s Sports Administrator of the Year.

Bailey, who is the club’s junior captain and a member of the club’s executive committee, took the award at the Sport Waikato dinner at the Don Rowlands Centre, Lake Karapiro.

The November 19 awards, sponsored by Waipa District Council, Waipa Networks and the Lion Foundation, saw a range of titles awarded to sports bodies and individuals throughout the district.

The citation for Tim Bailey’s award read: “Tim leads the volunteers that enable 460 children to participate in football. He is also on the club’s committee and is the junior club captain.

“Tim coordinates the junior operations team comprising of volunteers and is responsible for coaching, staffing the club shop, ensuring teams have kit, equipment and field space.

“Tim has also led the club executive committee in a revamp of the way it manages operations.”

Bailey will now be nominated as Waipa’s representative for the Waikato Administrator of the Year award to be held at Claudelands Events Centre on Friday February 1, 2019.

A past winner of the Waipa and Waikato awards was former Cambridge FC chairman Greg Zeuren in 2014 while past junior captain Catherine Clark was nominated last year for the Waipa award.

Top photo: Bailey (left) receives an Onyx Cambridge Volunteer of the Week award from club colleague Matt Clarke.

Finalists in the administrator of the year were:

Aroha Kara (netball)
Donna Milling (netball)
Rachael Thomas (swimming)
Sean Christian (cycling)
Sheryll Whitt (football)
Steve Carter (cricket)
Tim Bailey (football)

Cambridge had another finalist at the awards – the U-19 youth team that won the satellite tournament at the 2017 National Youth Tournament in Napier. The side were nominated for the Waipa Sports Team of the Year, a title won by St Peter’s Cambridge’s Maadi Cup rowing team.

Click here to read about other awards and achievements by our club