Draw made for this year’s Cambridge Sevens men’s tournament

Thirteen teams will contest the 2019 Cambridge Sevens (men’s) tournament.

This follows a re-draw after two late entries and a withdrawal.

The organisers decided to re-draw the groups and allow the late entries as we’re trying to provide a full day of football for as many as possible.

The tournament will be held at John Kerkhof Park on Sunday February 17, 2019, for a day of exciting and fun football to decide which team takes away this year’s title.

Games will be played on three-quarter sized pitches and with no offsides, meaning plenty of goals and open football. Entry is free for spectators.

Play begins at 9am.

Every team is guaranteed a minimum of three matches during the tournament.

Three groups will help determine the four semi-finalists.

Semi-finalists will be the three group winners plus the winner of a special sudden death play-off between the two best performing runners-up in the groups (based on points, goal difference, goals scored).

The two best runners-up will play in a match determined by golden goal (winner found with first goal) or through a penalty shootout if the game is goalless after 10 minutes.

The finalists will play off at 5pm.

Tournament draw

Click here for men’s sevens draw

Click here for rules and tournament guidelines.


This year’s tournaments are supported by Calnar Point of Sale and Richard Crafts. We thank them for helping make the sevens possible.

Women’s tournament (Sunday March 10, 2019)

Entries for the women’s sevens tournament are open till noon on Saturday March 2, 2019.

Click here for details and to register online.

Past winners – Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)
2018: Whakatane Town

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC