Saggies take out Calnar Cambridge Sevens (women’s) tournament

The experienced Saggies – a team of long-time football friends – have won the 2019 Calnar Cambridge Sevens (women’s) tournament after one of the most thrilling finals in the competition’s history.

Despite playing six half-hour matches throughout the day, Saggies overcame a young and hard-working Melville United team 5-4 in a final that saw end-to-end football.

However, the experience of Saggies (pictured at the prizegiving) – some of whom were in the Broken Down and Broken Down Again teams that won the tournament in 2015 and 2016 – earned them the Calnar Point of Sale Trophy.

Andrea Rogers and Libby Williams both scored goals direct from corners, while other goals came from long-range efforts and set plays.

Melville’s goals were more the result of passing football and their performance almost sent the final to extra time.

In all, 15 teams from the Waikato/Bay of Plenty region contested the ninth staging of the tournament.

Beaten semi-finalists were Baggies – mostly made up of players from West Hamilton United – and Papamoa who beat last year’s winners Whakatane Town in a sudden death play-off.

Photo gallery

Past winners – Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)
2018: Whakatane Town
2019: Saggies

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC
2019: Colombia+2