Reds get bye in preliminary round of ISPS Handa Chatham Cup

posted in: Men, News, Northern League

Cambridge have been given a bye in the opening salvo of football’s oldest cup competition, the Chatham Cup.

The bye in the preliminary round means the Reds will enter the ISPS Handa-sponsored competition in the first round proper, due to be played on Saturday June 1.

The Chatham Cup was first contested in 1923.

Here are the match-ups in the preliminary round:

ISPS Handa Chatham Cup


Puhoi vs Auckland Volcanoes
Zamantix Rovers vs West Hamilton United
Otorohanga vs Independiente
Tuakau vs West Auckland Kiwi True Blues
Kerikeri vs Manukau City
Dalian vs Matamata Swifts
Taupo vs Lynn-Avon United
Bohemian Celtic vs Onerahi
Kaeo-Inter vs Internationale
HNK Auckland vs Papamoa
University of Auckland vs Warkworth
Te Atatu vs Whangarei
Glen Eden Rangers vs Ranui Swanson
Te Awamutu vs Waikato Unicol
Ngaruawahia United vs Otumoetai

Byes: Eastern Suburbs, Central United, North Shore United, Onehunga Sports, Western Springs, Birkenhead United, Melville United, East Coast Bays, Hamilton Wanderers, Manukau United, Glenfield Rovers, Waitakere City, Bay Olympic, Mt Albert-Ponsonby, Forrest Hill-Milford United, Three Kings United, Takapuna, Ellerslie, Bucklands Beach, Tauranga City, Waitemata, Waiheke United, Fencibles United, Hibiscus Coast, Claudelands Rovers, Manurewa, Uni-Mount Bohemian Celtic, Cambridge, Albany United, Franklin United, Greenhithe Catimba, Metro, Oratia United, Onehunga Mangere United, Navy, Papatoetoe, Papakura City


Gisborne Thistle vs Havelock North Wanderers

Byes: Napier City Rovers, Napier Marist, North End, Palmerston North Marist, New Plymouth Rangers


Byes: Western Suburbs, Brooklyn Northern United, Wellington Marist, Waterside Karori, Island Bay United, Kapiti Coast United, Lower Hutt City, Miramar Rangers, Naenae, North Wellington, Otaki Purutaitama, Upper Hutt City, Petone, Seatoun, Stokes Valley, Stop Out, Tawa, Victoria University, Wainuiomata, Wairarapa United, Wellington Olympic, Wellington United


St Albans Shirley vs Parklands United
Christchurch United vs Universities

Byes: Nelson Suburbs, Tahuna, Central SC, FC Nelson, Cashmere Technical, Western, Coastal Spirit, Ferrymead Bays, Selwyn United, Nomads United, FC Twenty 11, Halswell United, Burwood, Waimakiriri United


Mornington vs West End
Geraldine vs Grants Braes
Thistle (Invercargill) vs Gore Wanderers

Byes: Mosgiel, Otago University, Queenstown, Wanaka, Roslyn Wakari, Green Island, Caversham, Dunedin Technical, Northern, Queen’s Park, Old Boys, Thistle (Timaru), Northern Hearts

Cambridge’s record in the cup

Click here for details of how Cambridge has performed in past years of the Chatham Cup