West Hamilton and Otorohanga win women’s trophies at Cambridge

posted in: News, Women

West Hamilton United have retained the Waikato Women’s Cup after beating Tokoroa 1-0 in this year’s final at Cambridge’s John Kerkhof Park.

The team, who took the cup last year when they beat Cambridge in the final, took out a close encounter but benefitted from experienced players who kept their nerve in the knockout.

In the early game, Otorohanga won the Waikato Plate, beating Te Aroha Cobras 4-2.

The victory provided some compensation for Otorohanga who lost the men’s Plate final the previous day.

Main photo: West Hamilton celebrate their victory in the cup.

Members of the Otorohanga (yellow/blue) and Te Aroha Cobras (blue/white) at the Plate final. Image courtesy WaiBOP Football.


Click here for coverage of the men’s Waikato Cup and Plate

Match programme

Recent winners

Waikato Cup (women)
2019: West Hamilton United
2018: West Hamilton United
2017: Melville United Premier
2016: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Hamilton Wanderers
2014: Cambridge
2013: Claudelands Rovers
2012: Claudelands Rovers

Waikato Plate (women)

2019: Otorohanga
2018: Matamata Swifts
2017: Tokoroa AFC
2016: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Matamata Swifts
2014: Morrinsville AFC
2013: Matamata Swifts
2012: Tokoroa AFC