New name goes on women’s Cambridge Sevens winner’s trophy

A new name has joined the list of winners engraved on the PosPro winner’s trophy for the Cambridge Sevens (women’s) tournament after Northland beat Papamoa in a tightly-contested final at John Kerkhof Park.

Northland, who finished runners-up to Hamilton Wanderers in 2020, went a step further in the 2021 edition of the one-day tournament, winning the final 1-0 against Papamoa who are competitive every year at this tournament.

The tournament brought together 12 sides from Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty and King Country on Sunday March 14.

The tournament provided an excellent opportunity for players to build their fitness in preparation for the winter season, and to enjoy a day of open football with no offsides, heaps of goals and plenty of fun.

One of the features of the day was the participation of a social team from Hamilton, the Arabian Knights, who included some members who were having their first experience of women’s football. Despite losing all their games, some heavily, the players remained positive and had a great day!


Here’s how the teams shaped up for the day of fun, sun and friendship:

Click here for Cambridge Sevens women’s draw


Our tournaments are supported by PosPro, and Richard Crafts.


Past winners – Cambridge Sevens

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Claudelands Rovers
2013: Glenfield Rovers (Auckland)
2014: Claudelands Rovers
2015: Broken Down
2016: Broken Down Again
2017: Golden Oldies (Hamilton)
2018: Whakatane Town
2019: Saggies
2020: Hamilton Wanderers
2021: Northland FC

2011: Whakatane Town
2012: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2013: Palace Jesters (Te Aroha)
2014: Hamilton Wanderers
2015: Kawerau Town
2016: Ngongotaha
2017: Young Gunners (Hamilton)
2018: Qooto-Qooto FC
2019: Colombia+2
2020:The Blues (Cambridge)