Cambridge go clear at top of WaiBOP Championship with 4-2 win at Wanderers

posted in: Men, News

Cambridge’s dream start to the 2021 WaiBOP Championship has continued with a come-from-behind 4-2 win against second-placed Hamilton Wanderers.

Cambridge got off to a disastrous start when Wanderers stole a goal in the opening minute when player-coach Johan Andeweg avoided four defenders to score.

Though Cambridge fought back into the game, Wanderers doubled their lead five minutes before half-time when Andeweg scored his second.

Coach Steve Thomas said his side went into the interval confident that despite the two-goal deficit, they could overhaul their opponents.

And so it proved.

Soon after the restart, captain Adam Brady scored and ten minutes later, Haydn Roil grabbed the equaliser.

Tom Woutersen then put Cambridge in front for the first time in the game, finding the net after 64′. It was his fifth goal of the season.

Roil put the result beyond doubt with a second solo effort in the 72nd minute.

Midfielder Shaun Richardson was Cambridge’s Player of the Day.

Cambridge’s next opponents are Tokoroa who come to John Kerkhof Park on Saturday April 17 (2.45pm) kick off.

Tokoroa moved into second place on the table with their 3-2 win against Taupo. Cambridge and Tokoroa are now the only teams with 100% win records after three rounds of play.

Team sheet

Photo gallery

Images courtesy of WaiBOP Football. Please click on image to open to full size

WaiBOP Championship results

Otumoetai 1-2 Tauranga Old Blues (ht: 0-0)
OTU: Rodger Broomhall.
OBL: Sergio Fuentes, Jonty Andrew.

Hamilton Wanderers 2-4 Cambridge (ht: 2-0)
WAN: Jermaine Andeweg 2.
CAM: Adam Brady, Haydn Roil 2, Tom Woutersen.

Whakatane Town 4-1 Flying Mullet Papamoa (ht: 3-0)
WHA: Cameron Wills, Kristopher Apiti, Sam Cox-Ellison, Andrew Cooper.
PAP: Charlie McIlwaine.

Ngaruawahia United 3-1 Te Awamutu (ht: 1-0)
NGA: Ivan Alonso 2, Jack Clarke.
TAW: Jared Drabble.

Waikato Unicol 1-0 Te Puke United (ht: 1-0)
UNI: Rob Dickson.
TPU: none.

Roundwood Tokoroa 3-2 Taupo (ht: 2-1)
TOK: Chris Teague, Nick Field 2.
TAU: Rhed Porteous, Min Hong.

League table

WaiBop Championship top scorers


Click here for fixture list and results from WaiBOP Championship >>>>

Golden Boot

Click here to see latest rankings in this season’s Golden Boot >>>>