Cambridge continue to set pace in WaiBOP Championship with 4-1 win

posted in: Men, News

Cambridge continue to lead the WaiBOP Championship after a comprehensive 4-1 win against Te Puke United at John Kerkhof Park.

The win keeps Cambridge three points ahead of nearest rivals Tauranga Old Blues who have two games in hand.

Cambridge got off to the best possible start, taking the lead after two minutes when defender Sam Garmonsway came in unmarked at the far post to head home an inswinging corner.

Te Puke bounced back six minutes later through Andrew Skerten.

As the teams seemed set to go into the break level, Cambridge winger Jordan Silvester put his team ahead in the 44th minute.

Cambridge poured on the pressure in the second half and went further ahead through Haydn Roil who scored the goal of the game, winning the ball in the Te Puke box and then keeping his cool and bending his shot past goalkeeper Ethan Ramsay.

In the 66th minute, Ramsay brought down a Cambridge attacker and from the resulting penalty, Cambridge captain Adam Brady put his side 4-1 ahead.

That’s how the score remained, despite a series of promising Cambridge attacks late in the match.

Coach Steve Thomas said he was delighted with the team’s play and attitude, especially in the second half, and the team needed to take the same attitude into its remaining fixtures.

Player of the Day was midfielder Shaun Richardson.

Main photo: Sam Garmonsway (6) swoops to head home the opening goal against Te Puke.

Cambridge’s next game is at Waikato Unicol next Saturday (July 31), with a 12.30pm kick-off.

Shaun Richardson (left) congratulates goalscorer Haydn Roil after the team’s third goal.

Team sheet

WaiBOP Championship results

Tauranga Old Blues 1-0 Tokoroa (ht: 0-0)
OBL: Harry Brown.
TOK: none.

Hamilton Wanderers 0-4 Whakatane Town (ht: 0-3)
WAN: none.
WHA: Nathan White, Andrew Cooper 2, Jake Noman.

Otumoetai 1-1 Ngaruawahia United (ht: 0-1)
OTU: James Thomas.
NGA: Yamil Casas.

Cambridge 4-1 Te Puke United (ht: 2-1)
CAM: Sam Garmonsway, Jordan Silvester, Haydn Roil, Adam Brady.
TPU: Andrew Skerten.

Taupo 1-2 Waikato Unicol (ht: 1-1)
TAU: Matthew Barry.
UNI: Sean Bresnahan, Krishaant Singh.

Papamoa 3-2 Te Awamutu (ht: 2-2)
PAP: Tony Goodin, Casey Andrew, Logan Crawford.
TAW: Bradley Egglestone, Joel Roil.

League table


Click here for fixture list and results from WaiBOP Championship >>>>

Golden Boot

Click here to see latest rankings in this season’s Golden Boot >>>>